Riverside Historical Walk

Sat August 17th 2013 at 2:00pm take a FREE History Walk in Riverside.

Join us in exploring the Historic part of Queen Street East between the DVP and just past Degrassi. Riverside Toronto has a rich history dating back to the late 1700s. The Queen Street Bridge over the Don River was one of the few crossings, making Queen Street the main East-West artery of Toronto. Get the details on some of the oldest buildings in Toronto to insider info on local anecdotes that make the Riverside a district steeped in stories.

Jane's walk image

Riverside Walkers during Jane’s Walk 2013

Led by Riverside Aficionado, Ron Fletcher –   former Riverside BIA Chair, one of the original founders of the Riverdale Historical Society, Heritage Toronto guide, Jane’s Walk walk leader, and ‘Over the Don’ author.

Ron Fletcher

Ron Fletcher by the 2nd largest trophy in the world housed in the Royal Canadian Curling Club, in Riverside.
Photo taken by, Riverdale Historical Society.

Here are the stop destinations:

Start Location: Ralph Thornton Centre
Meet us here, and watch out for the red umbrellas.
Second Stop: Beginning of Degrassi Street
The street that inspired the Cult-Classic Degrassi TV Series.
Third Stop: Maison Caras
Build in 1905, as the Bank of Commerce.
Fourth Stop: The Opera House
Former Vaudeville hot spot, it maintains it’s character as a location for indie music.
Fifth Stop: 717 Queen St. E.
Former Rising Sun Inn.
Sixth Stop: The Royal Canadian Curling Club
World’s second largest Trophy in the world.
Seventh Stop: New Broadview Hotel/Jilly’s
Inspired by Romanesque Architecture, has had colourful history, and it’s currently home to exotic entertainment Jilly’s.
Ninth Stop: Former Location of Sunlight Baseball Park
Home of Toronto’s First Baseball Park.
Tenth Stop: Riverside Bridge
Overlooking the original site of The Scadding Cabin.

For more info and registration, visit: http://riversideto-historical-walk.eventbrite.com/